Pocket shorts

I recently noticed that most of my shorts were made from pants leftovers instead of purpose-bought materials. I pondered whether this was why I was so frequently unhappy with the results, decided yes probably, and then turned around and made another scrap pair. But at least this fabric is summer-weight for a change! And they’re definitely getting worn, even if it’s because I’m short on shorts.

“Sure, but where’s the rest of them?” you might, with some justice, be wondering. Well!! It seemed like a good idea to modify the Peppermint pocket skirt to be a pair of shorts. The front and back are cut on the fold, and I thought it would be as simple as adding crotch hooks from another pattern, or from my brain. I chose another pattern. In general, my brain was not the MVP of this project.

I used a TNT pattern (discontinued – Afternoon Fern shorts), lined up the center front corner at the top edge of the skirt piece with the top corner of the short’s crotch seam, traced the curve, measured a 4.75” inseam straight down, and connected it with a perpendicular line to the side seam. That determined the length of the side panel, as well. I thought those almost 5 inches would give me some wiggle room, and the new front piece looked reasonable, so I repeated this for the back. I’ll talk more about the side panels later, but if right now you’re yelling “DON’T GO IN THERE, HE’S GOT A KNIFE” I’ve got bad news: *I* have a knife (scissors) and I used them to cut these pieces out of my extremely limited scrap fabric.

When I lined up the pattern piece corners I forgot to account for the short’s waistband height and the skirt’s grown-on, folded waistband, which meant my rise was a good 2.5” – 3” inches shorter than I thought, with an eventual elastic waist that would be fighting to reach my narrowest point if it had to give me an atomic wedgie to do so. Nooo.

It was too late by the time I noticed, which meant the only way to lengthen the rise was to shorten the inseam. In the end I deepened the curve by 1.5”, leaving me with about 3 inches of inseam. I wouldn’t have planned to make these quite so brief, but on the other hand, if I had calculated the rise correctly the pieces would never have fit on my scraps. It’s a poser.

I also forgot to consider the folded waistband when raising the pocket edge, but I did that entirely by eye and I was fine with a range of positions. Instead of cutting three pieces as in the original pattern – back of skirt pocket panel, pocket lining, front of skirt pocket panel – I cut the lining/front with a fold at the pocket edge. This wouldn’t be very fabric-efficient with the longer skirt but it was fine for short shorts. I also removed the excess from the pocket opening. I cut the new pocket pieces as shown below (this isn’t the purest form of calculation, but it was very easy):

Predictable and yet surprising to me, the pocket still gapes open because unlike the waistband it’s not cinched! So even though I removed the “droop” from the opening it’s still, practically speaking, wider than the available space.

But I like that perky edge.

Pocket notwithstanding, I followed the Peppermint order of operations. I sewed each leg separately and then joined along the crotch seam. Here I discovered another of my mistakes; the original skirt was cut on the fold, but I failed to add seam allowance. This was survivable because of the elastic waist. I actually lost more width by forgetting to account for the shaping along the waistband allowance – I had to change the angle of the upper part of the crotch seam to shape the waistband allowance correctly. Here’s how I should have converted the skirt front and back panels to include a crotch seam:

All my mistakes were own-goals. Luckily the fabric was accommodating, leftover rayon/linen from this dress. It was light enough to sew baby hems and try to scratch back any length I could. I had just barely any scraps of the scraps, only enough to cut a strip for a faux drawstring bow. Before folding the waistband, I interfaced a patch at its center, then sewed a pair of neighboring buttonholes and threaded my tie in one and right out the other. Unfortunately while baking Professor Boyfriend’s birthday cake I dropped chocolate batter on the tie (and just the tie???) and it stained irreparably, so I replaced it with this scrap of grosgrain ribbon and hand-sewed it along the center front seam so it wouldn’t fall out in the wash.

Hopefully those ribbon ends will fray nicely.

Separate from my mistakes, I have opinions. The biggie: if I make another pair of shorts like this, I’ll just do it with rectangles. The skirt-like flair is very comfortable to wear, but when paired with a skimpy inseam, it’s unwise/indiscreet to bend over. Another few inches still wouldn’t be enough to make me confident and I don’t like long shorts. That said, these are excellent for wearing around the house for chores (lots) or sleeping (less), and fine for a quick errand on a hot day, provided I don’t need anything from a low shelf.

If my tale of minor disaster turns you off making these changes yourself, there’s always the Matchy Matchy Chore shorts. $14 seems a bit steep for a 101 drafting project (mean?!!) but I am not here to blame people for wanting to give their noggins a day off. I am evidence that if you don’t, it will just take one!

Pattern: Peppermint pocket skirt

Pattern cost: NA

Size: 16; added crotch extensions to make shorts; made side panel pockets same width as side panels; forgot to add center seam allowance; forgot to account for integrated waistband in crotch curve; lowered crotch curve 1 1/2″ after the fact and reshaped upper curve to accommodate waist facing turnover

Supplies: scraps of linen blend, from stash; thread from stash; elastic, Sewfisticated, $0.99

Total time: 3.25 hours

Total cost: $0.99

14 thoughts on “Pocket shorts

  1. So my next blog to come features the weekend chore shorts and it is such a brilliant pattern! I was so impressed, just incase you’re wondering!
    Love these shorts though, and your tale of the creation made me laugh.

    Like

    1. Ooh I am intrigued! I liked the look of the Chore shorts but I felt suspicious that they were just a load of rectangles, so I’m interested to learn there’s some depth to the pattern and discover what it is! All patterns are evaluated partly by how many burp cloths can fit in the pockets now, perhaps you relate. 😂

      Like

      1. If that’s the measurement we’re going by these days (completely with you on this one) I can assure you it is truly in a league of its own 😂 – teethers, snacks, muslins… everything fits in these beauties 🤣

        Like

  2. I like how your shorts still have the distinctive pocket skirt ‘wings’, but a much more subtle version.
    I really enjoy reading about your adventures in drafting and pattern manipulation, and it’s extra useful to hear about the ‘oops, I forgot to do this but here’s how I got around it’ parts of those adventures.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much! The spirit of “oops” has been patting me gently on the head pretty often lately. 😂 I wouldn’t mind doing these again, right – giant pockets are so handy. I might have to move that top edge down to balance a longer leg though…I guess I’ll see! 😀

      Like

  3. Those do look perfect for Northeast summers. I gave up on shorts a while ago as I can’t stand how they look on me, but they are hard to beat for functionality in our heat+humidity! I think one way to claw back some rise length, btw, might have been to face the elastic waistband with another, similar-weight fabric on the inside instead of folding the main fabric on itself. I have done that with elastic waists before, when I was piecing from scraps or running short on fabric for other reasons (I detected that you and I share a miserly streak, ha).

    Like

    1. Just right for staying indoors with the windows shut because the AQI is too high, too. Such a fun added feature this summer. And good idea re: waistband! The waistband extension is trapezoidal, but luckily in a way that conforms to a waist point, which is handy for future “oops” moments. And yes, my philosophy around spending is that even when I can I don’t really want to! I guess it’s all about where you get your dopamine. Hoard your gold, dragon sister!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Who likes short shorts? We like short shorts (and pockets). RTW is extremely short on short shorts these days. (Sorry, I can’t stop myself…) During the pandemic I did manage to snag a pair of backpacking short shorts with an interesting waistband. It’s not too fitted and the inside has a channel with a tube of elastic that ties in the inside front. (There’s a very short front zipper but I don’t need to use it.) Ingenious and comfy! Missing? BIG POCKETS! (And they cost more than 99 cents…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just bought a pair like that too – nylon, lined with briefs, inside-elastic-tube – I’m going to wear them as swim bottoms because I’ve come to terms with the self-knowledge that I hate sewing technical knits. Also no big pockets!! Isn’t there some mathematical theorem that says the pockets should be at least 40% of the total shorts?!

      Like

  5. I just gave up on some ES Clyde Work Pants because the pocket was so big/wide/deep that it just felt weird while wearing and waaaay too much fabric on me there for 100-degree FL summer days. I think the pockets on your shorts are similar? Not sure, my morning coffee has worn off enough that I’m not quite following what you did. But that’s a sidetrack from saying that I’m impressed with your shorts journey and reaching your destination. Are you as witty while actually making the “mistakes” as you are when memorializing them on your blog? Also, your writing style makes me search for my big words, which cracks me up.

    Like

    1. They’re very similar to the Clyde pockets, but with a folded edge instead of the curved opening. I think they sit further from the body than the Clyde ones though, so while it’s not less fabric it might be more breeze…but unfortunately not fewer degrees, 100 is too many!! 🔥 Come back here and laugh at me in February!

      I’m usually a pretty good sport about mistakes because I have a fair amount of practice. 😂 I mean, what else can you do?

      Like

Leave a comment