Kelly II, Part One: Taslan

I’m finally making a second Kelly anorak – now with new, actual functionality!! I’ve pulled on my existing Kelly, my one hooded coat, on enough rainy days, to then walk home in fully saturated cotton twill, to know my top priority was water resistance. Not water *proof* – I wasn’t ready to commit to seam tape etcetera! – but just not, like, instantly wet and very heavy. I also didn’t want to overengineer this thing, since my main use case is city walking. Taslan (brand name) seem to have my desired qualities, plus a reasonable price point – I read about it here, as a windbreaker, and here as hiking pants.

But despite having many years to think this project over I went about it a bit back-asswards. I might have found a suitable fabric in general, but I definitely didn’t choose the fabric to suit the pattern, even though I had the pattern first. A few things mentioned in those posts: Taslan frays. It’s synthetic. You can’t attach iron-on interfacing, because it can’t handle heat. The Kelly pattern has all these interfaced pieces plus it’s intended to be finished with flat-felled seams.

BUT DID I LISTEN?!

It wasn’t until I was holding my 3 yards of 4-oz olive Taslan in my hands that I got uneasy. But I could see that while it might not hold a press, it could certainly wrinkle, so that got me hopeful about maybe a little judicious iron use. I prewashed the yardage (no turning back!) and cut myself a 3 x 3 square for what was essentially a series of material tests. I hit it with various heats, worried the edges to check fraying, and tried to pull it out of shape. And I was actually happy with the results! It didn’t hold a crisp press, but it wasn’t slippery like rayon or springy like polyester. I could use medium heat on my iron with no ill effects (the “wool” setting, supposedly), and while that wouldn’t be enough to attach interfacing, I didn’t have to worry about melting the nylon during normal use. I tried a clapper; it did help, but unfortunately when I used enough steam to make the clapper worthwhile, the fabric also got a little ripple-y, so that was out. But I didn’t find the fraying to be too bad, and it was crisp, light, and stable to handle. Also, if it has a wrong side, I couldn’t tell the difference. Time to launch.

Funnily, when I went to trace my pattern, I realized I’d missed one test – marking tools. Nothing really showed up on the Taslan! Not chalk, not pen, not charcoal. Weird! I ended up using a plain mechanical pencil and while it wasn’t perfect, it was legible.

Cutting this was a bear (though not a The Bear – I didn’t stare hollowly at an ossobuco). At a certain angle, the fabric seemed to turn aside my scissors. It’s got a minute horizontal wale (as opposed to a grid, like ripstop) and cutting with the wale was a lot easier than across. There’s also a lot of pieces, but I think it was the fabric itself that left me feeling that cutting session from my wrist to my elbow! Yowzah. I cut view B, with the drawstring and the stand collar.

I waited a couple days and let my arm get back to normal before cutting my “interfacing”, scrap cotton lawn I then sewed-in, using a Microtex needle. The lawn is strong, light, and matches the Taslan’s hand. I had to piece it in a couple places, but I think it was the right choice.

By the way, just for fun, the entire weight of this jacket before sewing and hardware: 336 grams, or about ¾ of a pound. Meanwhile, the hardware kit weighs 321 grams!

At this point we had a rainy day and I wore my old Kelly and in its deep gusseted pockets I found DOUBTS. Was it foolish to make a rain-resistant version without the hood, even though I don’t like the hood? Were the sleeves in fact a little shorter than I liked? I hated the seam finishes I did on this one. Would I hate my next seam finishes too???

I couldn’t answer all those questions, though I’m thinking of attaching the cuffs with a skosh less seam allowance, to extend the sleeves ¼” to 3/8”, anyway. But I could do more tests. I cut up a few more scraps and sewed ’em back together. We’ve got: flat-felled, French seams, and bias-bound.

Flat-felled pros include: it’s how the coat is drafted. It’s sturdy and yeah, you know, flat. It looks good from both sides. Its cons: I couldn’t find a perfectly-matched thread, so the stitching is a little higher-contrast than I prefer. Since I couldn’t use an iron to define the fold, I had to use my fingers, and if I couldn’t finger-fold it perfectly evenly across 4 inches, how would I do on a longer seam?

French seam pros: it’s pretty. I can apply it easily to any seam, including an armscye. It uses the pattern’s existing seam allowances. Cons: it’s a little bulky, though not too bad in this thin fabric. The finished seam doesn’t lie as flat.

Bias-bound pros: I’d get to choose a fun coordinating fabric (not this one, this was just a handy scrap). I actually like hand-finishing the second edge of bias binding. It’s a very strong and enduring finish. Cons: it’s very stiff and bulky. I’d have to go buy that coordinating fabric. There’s a *smidgen* of rippling on the ride side, probably from my meditative but uneven hand-sewing.

And the winner: French seams, I guess? It’s a combined risk/reward assessment, but I think that’s the right choice. And what about the hood?? I’m still leaning towards “no”! If you disagree speak up quickly, because I’m hoping to find the time to start constructing today!

One vote for the hood…

37 thoughts on “Kelly II, Part One: Taslan

  1. I would put on a hood, but I like hoods on everything. Sounds like it’ll be great though. Nice to see the baby is getting so big! So cute!

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ve yet to hear someone disagree with hoods (besides my own treacherous heart) – you are definitely in the in crowd. 😀

      Like

  2. I strongly favor a hood, because the Kelly hood is a three-piece (my preference), and it also extends far enough on top (as if it has a mini-brim) without obstructing my peripheral vision too much. And the logistics of picking up dog poo while holding an umbrella and a leash at the same time require three hands, while I only ever have at most two. What don’t you like about the hood?

    Like

    1. Aha! I answered my own question by reading your previous post on the pattern. There are fixes for those problems! The drawstring would be easy, given the construction. That facing can easily accommodate a drawstring. And you could add a strap-with-a-snap on the top of the head to scrunch it back. I’ve seen that on RTW, and it can come in handy when you don’t need the horse blinder function.

      Like

      1. Strap-with-a-snap! Ingenious! My one remaining even plausibly rational objection is that this is the kind of fabric that goes swish-swish when it rubs, and I imagine it would be noisy in the hood, but that’s just caviling. I think the Kelly hardware kit comes with an extra snap so it could be totally coordinated, too.

        Like

      2. Esoterica also suggested a convertible/removable hood so maybe I’ll create a fully featured fully removable hood!!! Potential!!!

        Like

      3. Well, if you’re going to make it removable, I’d line it with something like cotton lawn or flannel. That solves the noise problem, and also the problem of how to finish that bottom edge. Are you going to use a zipper to attach it, or snaps?

        Like

  3. I agree with Cantankera about needing a hood. Usually I hate that wad of fabric behind my neck but with rain and cold wear, the benefits outweigh the negatives, IMO. A rain hat can blow off or tip off if you’re leaning over.

    Like

    1. I also don’t love the aesthetic or the feeling of the extra pile of hood fabric, but I guess if I wear this mainly in wet weather, it wouldn’t be extra. Can I tell you though, a rain hat didn’t even occur to me, but now I’ve googled them and I think they’re adorable?! Oh no! I’ve taken the wrong piece of advice from your comment! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the idea of hoods but hate wearing them. So I guess that’s a vote for don’t bother…but I know if it was me I’d make it! Looking forward to hearing about next stages.

    Like

    1. Haha if I skip it entirely this is how I’ll justify it. 😀 I’m leaning towards a removable hood. All the trouble of making one, but also all the possibility of losing it on the subway. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, I’d modify the hood rather than leave it off (good suggestions above, though I don’t like having a hood so close around my face with drawstrings that I can’t yank it off quickly when I really need full vision). There is definitely an argument for a jacket without a hood (I just made one, from a combination of waxed cotton and water resistant poplin) but doesn’t everyone need one water resistant hooded jacket in their closet? So great on a blustery wet day…

    Like

    1. Another vote for hood! I’m getting convinced! But my main issue with the Kelly hood is that it blocks my periphery (and to a lesser extent makes it hard to hear cars) so maybe what I really need is a portable canopy/umbrella hat. (Oh no I just looked up umbrella hat and THEY EXIST!)

      Like

  6. I love the seam finish examples you’ve sewn up and shown. Have you heard of “hug snug” rayon seam binding? I don’t think they’re making any more brand name items for sale anymore but there is a knock off ‘rayon seam binding’ you can purchase. A sewing blogger Lilacs & Lace writes about using it. As for the french seam looking a little bulky, would a top stitch neaten it down?

    I agree that notions on a jacket can make it heavy-sometimes unpleasantly so. I have a rtw light jacket and in its case, the metal hardware must outweigh the fabric by about 2-3 times and makes it unduly heavy. I’ve thought about ripping out some of the heavy zippers and wondered about using plastic zippers for future makes.

    As for a hood-love them, as I get cold easily and love the additional instant warmth pulling on a hood can get me-but, it’s such a personal preference. What I don’t like about a hood is that I hear much less clearly and the rustle of fabric is noisy enough that I end up having to ask people to repeat themselves.

    Like

    1. Ooh, I hadn’t heard of that, thanks! I’ll go look it up (and check out that blog, too, thank you!). This is definitely the kind of fabric that generates noise, and given that as a pedestrian in MA it’s important to use all means of self-defense, that’s a great point! I’m not skipping over your main points and just jumping on the ones that justify not making a hood, but ummm, maybe I am a little bit. 😉

      Like

  7. I have a jacket that has a detachable hood with snaps, which I love. I wonder how difficult it would be, as that could be a happy compromise between appearance/bulk and practicality.

    Like

  8. Hey, I just stumbled on your blog. I just finished making an anorak with a hood made with two ply Taslan. I figured out the two best finishes, for me. One was running a flame (ie a BIC butane cigarette lighter) carefully along the fabric edge which seals the cut edge. The other was a flat felled seam. The other thing to be aware of is that the fabric can be subtly transparent, such that a dark fabric (ie a pocket lining, dark colored interfacing) can show through. I did press seams open with an iron set to a low temperature although I did not get a sharp/flat press to the seams. I did line my anorak, personal preference. Ultimately, I was very pleased with out the anorak turned out. See also Handmade PhD blog — she has made several pairs of pants out of Taslan for hiking. 

    Like

    1. Ohhh that lighter trick sounds so interesting. I’ve heard that for paracord as well, but never tried it (never needed to, either, but who doesn’t like an excuse to play with a little fire?). I just realized I didn’t know the ply of my Taslan but I went to the product listing and it said 3-ply – 2-ply must be super light! I bet you can fold and fit your anorak in a pocket! (Something that sounded good to me in theory, but I knew wouldn’t work with my hardware kit, which now I regret a bit.)

      Like

  9. I’m sure I’m too late for the vote to count, but I’m in the no hood camp. I hate them. I’d rather have wet hair that a coat/jacket with a hood when it’s not raining.* But I do like the idea of the detachable hood. Or maybe one that rolls into a zippered collar compartment? Whatever you decide, I’m sure it will be great! Looking forward to the next chapter on this project!

    *But I’m in Florida and not Mass so there’s that.

    Like

    1. I needed a “no” vote! 😀 Yaaay a hood-hater after my own heart! I think removable is the way forward, though if I had a color-matched zipper I’d certainly feel tempted to make a built-in pouch, I’ve been in a bag-sewing mood lately!!

      Florida = monsoons, right? 😉

      Like

  10. Here’s yet another vote for the hood, because if you have one you can choose not to use it, but if you don’t your head definitely has to get wet. Do you have any clothes with hoods you do like that you could copy? I would also second the suggestion above about adding a strap on the back of the hood so you can make it less deep. I’ve got an rtw coat with that and it makes the difference for being able to see it off the hood. (And! if I’ve put all my hair in a bun on top of my head I can undo the strap and the hood covers my whole head

    Like

    1. I’m actually wearing a hoodie *right now* as I type this and I was wondering earlier today why I don’t mind this hood. I don’t know the why but I DO have the pattern! I’ll hold this one up to the Kelly neck later and see how compatible they are, thank you for the suggestion!

      I also wore my hoodie under a jacket today which I both believe to be a lil silly and privately love, since it’s such a Boston uniform.

      Like

  11. If you don’t like the hood, leave it off. I find when I convince myself to make something I *should* like, but don’t, I regret it and it bugs me every time I wear that garment. You can always make a rain hat (Twig & Tale has one) or buy a hat to keep off the rain. Obstructing your vision and hearing, especially in the city, seems like a strong case against the hood anyway.
    What was your windbreaker link? Both go to the pants.

    Also, one thought—would self fabric be a better interfacing? It could be slippery, but will the cotton get wet and hold the wetness?

    Like

    1. Oops, it was meant to be a link to your yellow and pink windbreaker, I’ve updated it now! I also got my fabric from The Rain Shed which I believe was your source. 🙂

      I hadn’t thought about the cotton soaking up and storing the wetness, nerts. I’ll guess I’ll have to hope not because I already sewed the gusseted pockets (snaps ‘n all) and there’s cotton “interfacing” in the flaps! Still time to pivot for some of the other pieces, though, so I’ll do a test with a spray bottle (though depending on the rain amounts, a test with a faucet might be more accurate…).

      That rain hat is adorable, and I love the neck guard. I could see that being useful against UV on my very white-bread baby in different weather!! Plus I’m just a sucker for the Twig and Tale aesthetic.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. sorry too many comments to read if this has been mentioned but what about a snap on hood so it’s separate but you can use one if you need it. However if it’s for rain a hood if any sort is kind of the point. Wet neck is not nice.

    Like

    1. This is definitely the direction I’m leaning towards!! I don’t have quite enough spare snaps in the kit color so I’d either have to go gold (I have a lifetime supply of small gold snaps) or maybe buttons!

      Like

      1. I have a hooded jacket that has sewn on buttons but instead of buttonholes, braided elastic cord loops keep the hood attached. And another jacket has buttonholes, which work equally well, since there’s a layer of the waterproof fabric behind them. I’m a little terrified of snaps, but thinking of investing in a Kam snap setter.

        I live in the Pacific Northwest, aka the temperate rainforest! Every rain jacket MUST have a hood! If you don’t like hoods (I don’t always) I think it is down to the design and fit of them. I have a small head and hoods are almost always too large on me and threaten to slip off in windy weather.

        I’m also about to make my first rain jacket and am playing around with removable hood design. It has to curve around to fit my head shape, but not so tightly that I feel squished – and also has to have a way to cinch it, or button so it won’t fall off. And I’m with you about the ears not being muffled!

        Oh and I’m using Dintex with the mesh back, so there’s no need to line it…but naturally, I’m thinking of lining the body for warmth, but I won’t line the hood. I’m not actually sure why I want the hood to be removable since I never remove them, but I’m all about the options!

        Like

      2. I’m waffling between buttons or snaps for a detachable hood – buttons take longer to do and undo, but they’re lower profile and more secure when on. Plus my snaps don’t match my other hardware. On the other hand, snaps wouldn’t be that visible and in a sudden squall, speed is nice. What are you using for yours? In a perfect world I’d have a color-matched separating zipper of ideal length but it’s a big deal when I have a matching rivet for jeans kicking around, so I’m unlikely to find that zipper in my shoebox of stuff!

        Like

      3. I’m thinking buttons mainly because 1) I have lots of small ones in my stash that will do, 2) I can not worry about snaps and 3) like you, I don’t have to look for a coordinating zipper that separates (although my fabric is black, so it’s not that hard, maybe?

        I tend to never bother removing any hoods – it rains here pretty much anytime you need a jacket, and if I didn’t leave a hood on, I’d probably lose it. But I like the idea of being *able* to remove it if one wasn’t me and wanted to do that! Perverse, I know!!

        The idea of a separating zipper is great, except again with possibly of misplacing it somewhere (finding it 20 years later, long after the jacket is gone)… For me it would be preferable enclosing a hood in a kind of zipper pocket in the collar just because of not losing it, except then you’d maybe have an overly fat collar? We are still in the design stages over here, ha ha!

        Like

      4. You’re definitely doing it in a better order than me – thinking about it before starting! XD I’m building the plane while I’m flying the plane over here.

        Like

      5. I admire that about you, though! I’m also procrastinating on starting! 🤣

        My pattern is also one by Closet Core – but it’s one of the subscription ones, it’s the Crew Sandstone Jacket. I’ve made a muslin and quite like it, though I have sized it down quite a lot, as it’s meant to be more oversized than I like. Unlike the Kelly, it’s more of a little spring/summer rain jacket, but I think I have enough fabric and may lengthen it.

        Like

      6. I wasn’t familiar with the pattern so I went to look it up, and I landed on the page for kits, and now I WANT KIIITS. I just love piles of hardware! I think the pattern would work well lengthened too – at least in my case, the top “ledge” of my butt would catch all the rain otherwise.

        Like

Leave a comment